Thursday, May 31, 2012

Author of the Month for June: Karen Witemeyer

Well, gals, I’m super-duper excited to be starting my “Author of the Month” posts!  For the month of June I’m featuring Karen Witemeyer!!  She was the very first HCR author I ever read, and from that moment on I knew I would never been the same! *teehee *  That may seem a bit melodramatic, but it’s not much of an exaggeration!

I love Karen’s style!  I truly believe she is one of the best HCR authors out there.  Her characters are lovable and real, and the stories never fail to be uplifting.  I feel peaceful when I read her books, and I always end up with a smile.

This is what her website bio says about her:

“Karen Witemeyer is a deacon's wife and mother of three who believes the world needs more happily-ever-afters. To that end, she combines her love of bygone eras with her passion for helping women mature in Christ to craft historical romance novels that lift the spirit and nurture the soul.
After growing up in California, Karen moved to Texas to attend Abilene Christian University where she earned bachelor and master's degrees in Psychology. It was also there that she met and married her own Texas hero. He roped her in good, for she has lived in Texas ever since. In fact, she fell so in love with this rugged land of sweeping sunsets and enduring pioneer spirit, that she incorporates it into the pages of her novels, setting her stories in the small towns of a state that burgeoned into greatness in the mid- to late1800s.
Karen is living her dream by writing Christian historical romance novels for Bethany House.
[She is also a] two-time RITA® Finalist and winner of the coveted HOLT Medallion, CBA bestselling author. She is an avid cross-stitcher, shower singer, and bakes a mean apple cobbler.”

Her new book SHORT-STRAW BRIDE debuts tomorrow!!  (My copy is coming soon and I’m counting the hours!)  Already the reviews are glowing—I never would have doubted that—so I hope that you are ready to get a copy of your own!  (Those of you who are following this blog will be entered to win a copy of her book!  The drawing will be tomorrow--yay!!)
I plan to ask each author that I feature to share with us their favorite scripture.  When I asked Karen, this is what she said:  “As for favorite Bible verses, it is hard to pick just one. The one that keeps me going when I'm in the middle of a project is Philippians 1:6 - He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

And the one I keep on my desk as a reminder that writing is a ministry and not all about me is Psalm 115:1 - Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to your name give glory.”

Thank you, Karen, for sharing your gift and lifting us up through your books!

Wednesday, May 30, 2012


Some books really click with you when you read them and others simply don’t.  I read the Timber Ridge series first and I lo-HOVED them!  This particular series really didn’t do it for me.  I liked “Rekindled”, but the other two were only so-so.

Book Rating:  Here a little, there a little

Yeah, yeah.  I can hear your sneers through my computer.  “But, Amber…” you say.  “How in the world could you not like this book?!  Are you insane?!”

I don’t think I’m insane. *teehee *  And as much as I would like to console you and say I will give it another try, sorry.  It ain’t happenin’.

First I will hail it’s one good attribute: the Christian message was fabulous, as are all the messages in Alexander’s books.

Annabelle Grayson (a character you will get to know from the first Fountain Chronicles book “Rekindled”) has had an extremely hard life.  But thanks to a loving and sweet husband she was saved from her pervious existence and given the chance at a second life—a life of joy.  Sadly, her husband dies—in like the first few pages of the book!  Leaving her and their unborn child by themselves.

Thankfully they have great friends to turn to.  However, Annabelle still feels the need to finish the journey she and her husband started, and get to Idaho before winter sets in.

Matthew Taylor (another character from “Rekindled”…I really liked him in that book, but things changed for me in this one…) applies for the position as a guide for Annabelle.  But he had no idea what he was getting into, and now he’s not even sure if he wants to continue, knowing that she is the one who is employing him.

This book has a lot of anger in it, and a lot of sadness.  As does “Rekindled”...  However, this one seemed a lot darker to me for some reason—there was hardly any happiness in it.  None that really stuck out to me, anyway.  Annabelle’s life was so hard, and so was Matthew’s.  And the fact that throughout a major portion of this book they vehemently hated one another, it was difficult for me to see this as a romance.

Again, there is a place in this world for books like this, but I am not one for dark stories.  And that’s what I really felt like this was.  Dark and heavy and sad.  Of course things pick up near the end, but that wasn’t enough to make me like it.  If I finish a book and know that I will read it again, then it meets my criteria for an Up All Night’er or Best of the Best, but this was not it for me.

Let me know what you think when you read it.  And don’t be hatin’ on me for not liking it if you totally love it, because you really might.  There are lots of people that do.

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

The Inheritance

I was so touched by this story and the message.  It has a very heartfelt, real-life feel about it.  If memory serves me right, this is the first Alexander book I ever read, and I was immediately addicted!

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

Often times when I read these stories I think to myself, “That’s nice n’all, but that would never really happen.”  This story dealt with some very real issues, (ie: the wayword brother) and I was so grateful to see that!

Many times in our lives God allows us to have very difficult challenges—so it is with the leading lady in this story, McKenna Ashford.  McKenna is trying her best to care for and parent her younger brother Robert, who has been in a great deal of trouble in recent months.  She goes to Colorado in search of a new life for them, and what she “inherits” is nothing like what she expected.  She is overwheled with her responsilities, and isn’t sure if she can handle the weight of it all.  Her faith and trust in the Almighty was wonderful!  You will be so inspired, I know I was!

U.S. Marshall Wyatt Caradon is a leading man anyone can love!  He is gentle and kind, yet tough when he needs to be.  So dreamy!!  Wyatt helps McKenna with her difficulties and finds he can leave behind years of hurt by allowing himself a new life with this lovely woman.  The romance of the story was kinda slow in coming, but once it got going there was no stoppin' it!  Mmmmm, yes I think I'm gonna have to pick this one up again this summer!!

The “inheritance” in this book wasn’t really what I thought it was going to be, and I was very moved.  I would read this again and again.  Can’t wait to hear what you think about it!

My testimony of God’s love and grace were strengthened through this book, and I’m sure yours will be too!

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Sixty Acres and a Bride

Holy FREEEEEAAAAAK!  (Pardon my French.)  This book was breathtakingly beautiful.  I seriously could not stop reading!

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

I am often suspicious when I start a new book, and I haven’t decided if that is a good thing or a bad thing.  Anyway, I was extremely skeptical when I started this one.  No reason, really.  I just was.  But, it didn’t take long before I was consumed by my need to finish this book!  This is Regina Jennings first novel, and there’s no way it will be her last.  If you are keen on Tamera Alexander’s style of writing, you will like this book.  To me, their styles are quite similar.

So, this is a modern take on the Biblical story of Ruth and Boaz.  It’s a great, GREAT romance!  I smiled, and sighed and giggled my way through it.  Now, if you are like me, then you probably like to read these books knowing that there’s gonna be a good kiss sometime before you’ve gone through half the book. Not so here, my friends.  You gotta wait a long, long time. I mean, a long time.  But whoo-ee, it’s worth it!

Rosa (a lovely, sweet and hard working Mexicana) has married into the Garner family, and embraced the Christian faith.  She and her mother-in-law return to Texas from Mexico after their husbands die, only to find they may lose their land due to back-taxes.  They do everything they can think of to get the money, but in the end it still isn’t enough.  How in the world will they save their land and livelihood?

Enter, Weston Garner.  (Do you hear the angel chorus?)  He is really the perfect leading man, in my opinion—strong, with dashing good looks, kind, loves God, has a fun personality and is also romantic.  Who could want more?  Are you crazy?  Anyway, their relationship throughout the book grows slowly, but substantially.  I felt like the issues they were dealing with were very real, and I appreciated that greatly.

The Christian message of the story was wonderful.  Some books have a constsant flow of scriptures, prayer, etc. throughout the book and this one didn’t have as much of that as I have seen before.  But the stuff that was there was very good.

If you don’t like this book, I’ll eat my hat.

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Blue Moon Promise

I am drawn to HCRs set in Texas like a moth to a flame.  So I couldn’t resist this book!  It was my first taste of Colleen Coble, I really enjoyed her style!

Book Rating:  Up All Night'er

Overall, the story was great fun and the romance was swoon-worthy.  This book is a nice, easy read, no doubt about it!

Lucy Marsh has had a rough go of things in the past several months.  And now that her father has passed away it’s all she can do to keep her and her two younger siblings together.  When an old family friend comes and offers her a way for them to stay together, her desperation makes it impossible for her to pass up.  The proposition?  Marry the man’s son, sight unseen, (with the father as proxy) and move to Texas the next day.  (I just love those kinds of books!!  So fun!!)

Anyway, Mr. Nate Stanton (a lovely cowboy!!) is none too thrilled to learn about his new wife and her siblings that are now also under his care.  However, as you can rightly assume, this new hubby and wife fall in love over time and everything works out well in the end.  Are you surprised?!  *teehee*  (I don't think I would like it if it didn't turn out well!)

In conclusion, if you want a no brainer, read it.  You'll enjoy it.  The references to the scriptures and God were great!  I was very impressed with that.

Happy reading!
Buy it!

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

A Lady Like Sarah

It was one of those nights.  I had gotten sucked into this book and there was no stopping me.  Even though I was deathly tired—my eyes were burning and blood-shot, and my head was pounding from what felt like the weight of two anvils.  Must……keep…..reading…..must………keep………reading.

The next day was a blur.  Was it worth it?  Oh yes it was.

Book rating:  Best of the Best

What a unique idea for a story!  Sarah Prescott comes from a family of outlaw brothers.  She has never known a “real” family, and believes she will never have one.  There is a price on her head and a hangman’s noose waiting for her in Rocky Creek.  Even though the charges against her are trumped-up, what chance does she have?  She’s a Prescott.

Justin Wells is a preacher en-route to Rocky Creek.  He’s looking to start-over after an embarrassing debacle in his hometown of Boston.  When he stumbles upon Sarah and a dying U.S. Marshall, his journey to Texas takes a very unexpected turn.  

Sarah is feisty, and knows how to take care of herself, but she secretly yearns for the love of someone like Justin.  He in turn, never would have expected this beautiful (and wanted!) young woman to steal his heart.

I love, LOVE this story.  What a great example of pure, childlike faith!  Sarah is essentially converted in this story, and I love how she trusts in God, literally, to the bitter end!  Beautiful!  I went away feeling like I need to show God that I can trust Him with that same faith.

The romance is wonderful and the story will melt your heart.  I can’t wait for you to read this!  It’s hard for me to say which of these books in this series is my favorite—they are all so different and inspiring.  Justin’s love for Sarah is magnificent!  That’s what love is all about, people!  So, just go read all the books and don’t do as I did...  Read them in order!

Be prepared for some sleepless nights, y'all!

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Monday, May 14, 2012


If you ever want a fabulous read--one that is low on “heavy” and high on “fabulous” pick up a Hatcher book.  Belonging is the first in a three book series (I am reading them in order this time…go figure!) and it’s a great start!

Book Rating:  Up All Night’er

This lovely story takes place in a wonderful little town in Idaho.  Felicia Kristoffersen is the new school teacher, and even though she is thrilled to be there—and determined to do her very best, she knows that there are some people who aren’t thrilled about her arrival.

Colin Murphy was devastated by his wife's death five years ago.  Now, he has only one concern: his daughter Charity.  He wants her to get a good education, but he is afraid that Felicia is inexperienced, and more concerned about getting married than really being a teacher, and he knows it will break Charity’s heart.

This beautifully simple romance will sweep you away to a delightful world.  The characters seem very real to me, and I love that the spiritual message is so clear.

So, find yourself a nice little bowl of your favorite night-time treat (in my case, some homemade granola… Hey, there’s nothing boring about that, compadre!), grab this book and relax.  You deserve it!  Bon appetit!

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

A Vision Of Lucy

This is the second book that I’ve read which focuses on photography as a budding art form.  (The first one being From a Distance…)  Of the two, I have to say I actually like A Vision of Lucy more.  I know, I know.  The former won a Christy Award.  That's great n'all, but it doesn’t change my opinion in the least.

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

This is the third book in a three-book series, and I read it first. (Don’t ask me why I keep doing that because I seriously don’t know.)  But you don’t have to read them in order for these books to make sense, so that’s the good part.

If you haven’t ever read a Brownley book you are in for a real treat!  Like a hot-fudge-Sunday-with-a-cherry-on-the-top kind of treat!!  Her style is descriptive and playful without being over the top or cheesy.  I smiled my way through this book, and I was sad to see it end.  And that goes for all the books in this series!  I’ve read several series from a few authors and so far, I like this series best.

Trouble seems to follow Lucy Fairbanks wherever she goes.  Not that she’s out looking for it, mind you.  She simply wants to take photos for the town newspaper so bad, she will do anything to get the perfect shot.  It’s on one of these quests that she’s nearly killed by a run away stage coach and is saved by the “wild man” that lives just out of town.  (Um, side note here…you know it’s gonna be a good book if there’s a kiss before you’ve even read 20 pages!  Boo-ya, baby!)

David Wolf is a man torn between two worlds.  (He is also a man that is exceedingly rugged and super-duper good looking!  Just wanted to clear that up in case you were wondering…)  He can’t seem to escape this young woman who brings disaster.  And despite his efforts against it, he finds he is falling in love with her.

All the books in the series are SO romantic, and have a perfect blend of action and just a dash of drama.  LOVE IT!

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Book Give-away!!

                                                Extra!  Extra!  Read all about it!  

Who doesn't like getting free stuff?!  If you "follow" my totally awesome blog you will be entered to win Karen Witemeyer's new book Short-Straw Bride which comes out next month!  The drawing will begin June 1! So, all you book worms out there better "follow" my totally awesome blog, and maybe the lucky winner will be you, baby!

Sunday, May 13, 2012

A Suitor For Jenny

This book was amazingly delicious!  I devoured it so fast you would have thought it was a bag of Cool Ranch Doritos.  No, I’m serious.  I read it that fast.

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

I loved the premise of this story:  Girl goes to town looking for husbands for her sisters, but insists she doesn't need one herself.  (Of course you can imagine she ends up with one...teehee...)  I knew I had to read this!

Jenny Higgins is a very determined, hard working girl who comes to Rocky Creek because she read in a newspaper that this town had the highest number of eligible bachelors in Texas.  Too bad it was a misprint—but she doesn’t know that.  She has been caring for her sisters since their parents died many years ago and the responsibility has weighed very heavily on her.  In their dire circumstances it made her do things she never wanted to do, and now she believes no one will ever truly love her.  All she needs to do is find men who can care for her sisters financially so they will never starve again.

Rhett Armstrong (hel-LO!  His name alone is super hot!) is the town Marshall and when someone bursts into his office claiming the town is being taken-over by three women looking for husbands, he dismisses it.  But, over time he can’t believe how true that statement really was.  And little does he know how “Colonel Jenny” will change is life forever.

Now, as you know, I won’t divulge any more of the yummy details, so that’s why you just gotta go read it yourself.  But I will tell you, that I thought the romantic tension was magnificent, the characters were SO fun and the spiritual message was inspiring.  I loved it all.

I know you’re wondering.  Which would I rather choose: a bag of Cool Ranch Doritos or this book. Sorry, Doritos.  I would choose this book.

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Thursday, May 10, 2012

The Preacher's Bride

Here is yet another story of strength and fearlessness through Christ, in the face of severe difficulties.  (Funny side note matter how many times I have read this title, I still want to say The Preacher's Wife!  Duh?!  What's my problem?!  I think I'm broken...)

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

I fell in love with Hedlund's writing after I read The Doctor’s Lady.  I immediately ordered The Preacher's Bride, and waited (quite impatiently, I might add) for it to arrive at my door. It came by way of UPS and no one saw me for the next 24 hours.  OK, not really—but I did spend every spare moment reading it.  As with The Doctor's Lady, this book is based on truth--I just love that!

If you are a mother, (and even if you are not…) the first pages will tug, violently at your heart, and you will not be able to stop reading!

Elizabeth Whitbread is a sweet, caring, and unassuming looking woman, who feels that God is leading her to take care of John Costin’s children, in the wake of his wife’s death.  (Let me say quickly here, that I had no idea about this time in England’s history, and I was SO fascinated!  Wow. You will simply love this time-period!)

John Costin, the leading man, believes it is his mission to spread the word of God, no matter how he is threatened or abused.

As his grief over his wife’s death passes, John begins to fall in love with Elizabeth and sees her as the perfect companion for him.  She is already deeply in love with him—for his faith, his strength, his determination and not to mention dashingly good looks!  *sigh * Love it!  But the obstacles they face are almost too oppressive to bear.

There is a wonderful rescue scene in this book…I dog-eared the page, so if I just wanna go back and read that part I can. (teehee...)  I have been found, numerous times, reading that particular part with a big, silly grin on my face.  It’s at those moments my husband knows I must have had a particularly stressful day chasing my kiddos around.  So, wisely, he let’s me finish, before he asks what we are having for dinner.

Your faith will be strengthened when you read this book, no doubt.  Enjoy!

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Song of My Heart

When I read these books I like to find the things that I have in common with the leading lady.  Sometimes those things are easy to find and sometimes there’s nothing at all.  In Song of My Heart, my connection was the music.  I was actually wondering if any writer had done a story about a girl that likes to sing…so when I found this book I knew I had to read it.   (Can  I just interject a little something here while we are talking about “connecting” with the leading lady—where are the leading ladies with brown hair and brown eyes! WHERE ARE THEY?!  I only know of one book so far where the leading lady had brown hair AND brown eyes.  I’m not feelin’ the love.)

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

I found this book to be a complete joy.  It just goes to show that you may have to try a few books from the same author before you give up on them completely.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about Sawyer after reading A Hopeful Heart, but I gave this one a try and, boy am I glad I did!  I had a very hard time putting it down.

Sadie is a sweet devoted girl, who goes to work at a mercantile in Kansas to provide for her family who live hundreds of miles away in Indiana.  She also has been “chosen” to sing at the towns Opera House.  But there is something fishy going on and Sadie can’t quite seem to put her finger on it.

Thad McKane is a Sheriff (‘member how I love those lawmen!?) who has come to town to look into some illegal boot-legging.  He is just a totally lovable guy.  I wouldn’t name him as a rugged man-of-a-man, but he is very appealing.  Maybe his character is supposed to be that way since he is trying to follow his dream of becoming a preacher.

Thad is beginning to fall for Sadie in a bad way (or I should say a good way…hehehe…) but he is beginning to think she might somehow be involved in the crimes he came to town to investigate.

You will thoroughly enjoy this book.  It’s light and and a pure delight (like my play on words there?) to read.

Happy Reading!

Courting Morrow Little

Courting Morrow Little was so deliciously romantic, I needed to keep a towel with me to mop up my drool.  (Keep in mind, all these books, though deeply romantic are also very clean.  No hanky-panky.)

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

All of Frantz’s books are dark.  No doubt about that.  But, they really do make up for it in other areas such as…romance.  Hello?!  I mean, isn’t that one of the main reasons we all read these?! 

Morrow is a young woman who, in this untamed land of 18th century Kentucky, is about the most eligible lady around.  She is attracting numerous suitors, but only one captures her heart.  He (and I’m not going to divulge anything about this particular leading man.  I will only tell you, be prepared to L-OVE-AH him to death!  That’s where the towel will come in handy…) happens to be a part of her heartbreaking past.  Can she learn to forgive and move on?

There’s a lot of action in this book.  Read it when you have done all your chores like a good little mommy—you’ll want to focus.  Also ideally, read it when everyone else is asleep so you can enjoy it unfettered. 

Happy Reading!

The Girl in the Gatehouse

I’m about as big ‘a Jane Austen fan as you can find.  Regency period certainly has it’s place.  The Girl in the Gatehouse was well received by many, therefore, I was eager to partake.  (The girl on the cover?  I want her dress!)  However, I can only say that it was, for me, just ok.  Now, ring the bell for tea, Kitty.

Book rating:  Here a little, there a little

There was a whole-lotta stuff going on in this book.  I was overwhelmed.  In fact there was SO much that I almost felt like I was reading a mystery/romance/drama/something-else.  So, as you can guess it was a bit much for my meager brain to digest.

Mariah Aubrey  is sent away to live by herself, essentially, away from all “polite” society.  What has she done to deserve such a fate?  I can’t tell.  She resides in the gatehouse of a distant and somewhat mysterious relative.  It is here that she gets to know the handsome Matthew Bryant.  When he leases the estate on which Mariah resides, he finds he can’t quite keep away from this bewitching beauty.

Now, there is just so much that goes on I feel that I am highly incapable of summarizing it for you.  In short:  crazy stuff happens and I think you are really gonna like it.  How's that for ambiguity?!  *teehee* If you prefer a more simple story this may not be your thing, but it’s made plenty of readers pretty dang happy.  So when you read it let me know what you think.

I was honestly very, very surprised to learn that this book won the 2011 Christy Award for Historical Romance. I would have voted for Within My Heart, hands down.  (You can read my review for that one if you're curious...) But, that’s just me.

Happy Reading!

Wednesday, May 2, 2012


Rekindled is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!  This is the first book in the Fountain Creek Chronicles series and boy, is it a doozy.  I was sucked in from the very beginning. "But you don't have to take my word for it!"  (Yep, that's my not-so-subtle "shout-out” to the best "book review" show ever-- Reading Rainbow.  Hollah!)

Book Rating:  Best of the Best

First off, don’t expect to get through this without crying.  Have a tissue handy….or two… or three.  It’s a beautiful story about—well it’s a story about a lot of things: finding Christ, finding yourself through Christ, forgiveness, and of course true love.  I am really surprised this didn’t win a Christy Award, frankly.  But all the books in this series have won awards or have at least been nominated.  Again, I read these out of order, and I don’t recommend that though it can be done.

Kathryn Jennings is deeply in love with Larson, her husband of ten years.  He loves her deeply as well but, unfortunately, has some serious trust issues.  These issues stem from childhood so you know they’re gonna take some time to get over.  Also, they have not been able to have children, and he blames himself.  Kathryn hopes that someday he will break down his emotional walls so they can enjoy a truly happy marriage.

One night, something dreadful happens to Larson, nearly killing him, and sending him through a rough and lengthy recovery.  In the process he learns a great deal about himself, and about God.  But, there are still some hurdles to get over in his quest to show his wife that he loves her more than ever.

So many times I put down this book and said, “Holy crud!  This is so sad!  I can’t keep reading this!”  Then twenty seconds later I would pick it back up and start reading again….voraciously I might add.

The characters are phenomenal.  The plot, captivating.  The message, fabulous.  Go read it.  Now!

Happy Reading!
Buy it!

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

A Hopeful Heart

I had a hopeful heart when I read A Hopeful Heart.  (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.) Eh, hem.  And, this being my first read of any Sawyer book, I was pleasantly surprised.

Book Rating: Here a little, there a little

To be completely honest, there were times during this book I found myself getting bored.  Sawyer’s style is very verbose with lots of details.  This made the book drag on a bit for me.  I also felt that it took away from my imagination as a reader, but that’s just personal preference.

Next, I was disappointed in the romance.  There was enough to keep me reading and wondering what was going to happen next, but in the end I was disappointed that I had to wait until the very end of the book for the two love-birds to finally get together.  Exhausting!

Tressa is a young beauty from the east who has been sent by her Aunt to a Herdsman School in Kansas where she will learn to be a ranchers wife.  (I thought the plot was way fun!  I just would have enjoyed more romance.  More romance, people!) Abel is the owner of a ranch near the school and wants nothing to do with the girls from the east—he’s had his heart broken before.  Also, there’s trouble at his ranch and he needs to get to the bottom of it.  Somehow Tressa finds herself in the middle of the problem, and he gets to come to her rescue!  Yay!

There was a twist in this plot that I didn’t really see coming, and I found that to be thoroughly entertaining.  The supporting characters were also fun, while the Christian side of it really shone.

Definitely read this when you are looking for something simple and down-right fun.

Happy Reading!

Loving Libby

Loving Libby:  cute, fun and totally great for an escape from the rat race.  Otherwise known as, “Mom, what’s for lunch?”  “Mom, I have to go poopy!” “Mom, where’s my barbies?!” “Mom, mom…mom…mom…mom…”  Ok, you get the idea.  (I only joke about it because, deep down you know I love my life as a mom!)

Book rating: Up All Night’er

I love these books by Hatcher where I can just jump into another place and time and feel good in the process.

Libby Blue didn’t start life as Libby Blue.  She was the daughter of a sickeningly wealthy, and horribly mean man named Northrop Vanderhoff.  And her name was Olivia.  She narrowly escapes being forced to marry a man she doesn’t love and flees to Idaho where she begins a new and happy life.

Remington Walker wants revenge on Northrop for what he did to his father.  So he takes a great deal of money from Northrop to find where his daughter has been hiding for six years.  He could never have imagined that upon finding her, he would fall in love with her.  

I thought this story was just pure, blissful entertainment.  You won’t be disappointed.

Happy reading!